A&H

Bad game?

Alan Collins

What do you do after you've had a bad game?

Yesterday morning I had my first game as a referee, as a last-minute favour for a friend (their ref pulled out shortly before kick-off) - and as such I was on my own (in as much as I didn't have a mentor present because it was short notice).

I made a few poor decisions early on (including one where I had stopped play for a handball and inadvertently signalled the wrong way for the resulting free kick) and lost control of the game early on. It was only a friendly (and the players knew I was a trainee), so they weren't too concerned, but it was still a knock to my confidence, knowing that there were many situations during the 90 minutes that I should have handled better.

The Referee Store
It seems as though you have pretty much already done it!
knowing that there were many situations during the 90 minutes that I should have handled better.
It appears that you have gone over some situations that have occurred in your game and have realised how you should've dealt with them!

Realistically, you just need to pick yourself up and go out again as soon as you can! Remember, Howard Webb didn't do the World Cup Final after just his first game! It took him many games to build up to it - same with you! It was only your first game, you should expect learning points to result from it.

Best wishes for your next game.

One trick that I use if I put my hand up the wrong way for a hand ball is as soon as I realise it's the wrong way (shortly after the shouts from the players) I use my other hand and tap my already outstretched arm in a hand ball signal, then I put it up the right way. Some players notice and I have a joke with them, others don't and so they think I'm just explaining it. ;)