A&H

Fast tracking

Chrisp72

Always smiling
Hi , I have been a referee for 10 yrs and at level 6 , I’m unable to go for level 5 just yet due to me not being able to complete all the games .
It is now twice this season where a referee tells me that he did not have to complete anything and was given his level 6 after having only doing a handful of games , this evening I was talking to a coach that’s only done 4 middles and due to who he knows at the local cfa he tells me they are fast tracking him to level 5 ?? Surely this shouldn’t be allowed ?

The Referee Store
Sounds a little bit like fabrication to me. If this is happening, I’d have some level of concern as to why, and how

I thought under the new system you can apply for your promotion to Level 5 and complete the games at your own pace even if you can't fit them into a single season?

As for the coach that really doesn't sound right to me, the promotion criteria are set at a national level and don't see how a CFA can bypass that legitimately.

Remember the promotion rules for 7-6 and 6-5 have changed in the past few seasons.

It is automatic when you referee 25 games, have 2 match day coaching reports, 5 games as AR and doing in-person tests.

Remember the promotion rules for 7-6 and 6-5 have changed in the past few seasons.

It is automatic when you referee 25 games, have 2 match day coaching reports, 5 games as AR and doing in-person tests.
In Herts it is 'semi-automatic' in that the right is reserved to require more coaching visits in the rare cases where the Match Day visits give significant pause for thought. However, as you say, overall the process has indeed been changed to facilitate more flexible and swift progression.

Going from level 8/9 to level 7 only takes a "handful of games" - charitably, it could be that's what the coach is describing and simply has his level numbers wrong?