A&H

Fitness as a new ref

Andy A

Something that has been bothering me recently is my fitness.

I have my first game this Sunday and really don't feel my fitness is anywhere it needs to be??

My background is that I was a Goalkeeper throughout my career and as such didn't like running much in training :D

So you might well ask me, why did you choose to become a referee as there is a lot of running involved. Which is a very good question. I love the game and want to give something back to it and reffing seems the best way for me.

My take on it is that I've seen ref's at some of my games that hardly do any running, I'm pretty sure I'm more fit than them, so why can't I do it?

I know that I have to be in the best position to give any particular decision and that this will inevitably involve quite a lot of running throughout the game to achieve this on every decision.

So I don't really know what I'm asking here, but can anybody offer tips?

The Referee Store
Follow Sheffield's Finest's example, take up a circular patrol path no more than ten yards from the centre circle, works for both of us.......
Secret is really to read the game and anticipate play. You should have a good start being an ex player, I came from a rugby playing background and found it particularly difficult in the earlier years. Still get bolloxed when the long ball gets punted downfield though......

At the end of the day, you can get away with doing a barely passable job with very little movement if your eyes are OK. BUT, it's not to be encouraged and positioning yourself properly both adds to your decision making ability as well as your credibility if you have to sell a controversial decision.