A&H

Junior/Youth Friendly club Lino

ref craig

RefChat Addict
Level 5 Referee
Me as a fellow referee don't usually have a moan about a referee but today I make an obsession I was running line when ball was played forward now me being a referee myself this season I have never cheated for my team or anything of the sort the player standing in that position receives the ball but loses it now the referee has not even looked at me for the flag and I am shouting my head off now he shouts play on when quite clearly the team who player was offside still now have the ball now I've kept the flag up and it's when I call him again that he quite rudely tells me to put the flag down now if I was not a referee and I would not been running the line for the club what would of other people done in that situation.

The Referee Store
Think we might need some more context.

Explain the game. Had you given anything controversial previously? Had the referee cover this in his pre match?

so you were CAR, flagged for offside and the ref waved you down?
Same thing as as NAR - nothing you can do. Grit your teeth, drop the flag and get back into position. He'll wear it if anything comes of it. Even if something significant happens - you've already provided your opinion and he didn't want it.

Not a big deal at all.....

I'm a West Midlands referee so my course taught us to allow club linos to do offsides but in my reasoning I'll only wave a club Lino down if it has gone through to the keeper gone out for a goal kick or there is a defianate advantage

If you're a CAR, you're obliged to do what the referee on the day wants to do, even if that's not standard in your area. And he's obliged to be fairly cautious with you - he doesn't know if you're a qualified ref or not and even if you say you are, I think it's smart for a referee to be sceptical.