A&H

New to younger ages - help please

Michael Sawyer

Level 8 Referee
Hi all,

I have been refereeing mens for over 5 years before coming into youth refereeing which I have done u12-u18 for the past 2 years.

I have been asked to referee u8/u9 having never done it before and wondered if any of you could give me some insight to the differences other than the number of players time etc I have heard you need to take a developmental side so show them why it was a foul and a foul throw etc?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mike

The Referee Store
Not much difference really other than the number of players and time. Only things to remember are:
- halfway retreat rule for goalkicks -stand on halfway and call the players back.
- throw ins - they can look horrendous particularly when they are trying to go long. Just get it taken again and tell them to stand still.
- all fks are direct!
- check your league rule on passbacks and keeper distribution - some say keeper has to throw only some allow kicking.

Have plenty of chat with the players, especially around tackles, often there are a lot of arms and shirt pulls. Plenty of gentle reminder go a long way.

Hi Mike,
You answered the question yourself, you need to help the lads out. At U8 many teams still play like the 'bees around a honeypot' whereby its hectic and the lads look all look lost. A lot of throw ins will be taken illegally, either not thrown correctly or they stray a yard onto the FOP etc... I don't tend to award a foul throw, but go over to the kid and give him a tip to say it needs to go all the way behind the head in one movement then let him through it.