A&H

Pre match instructions

Chris.smith.2000

Level 9 Referee
Hey everyone hope your well.

I am a trainee referee and I have a couple of questions.

1. When you get an email from a club confirming
the match, are there any questions that you ask and do you keep the email short.

2. What do you say to the mangers when you meet them for the first time.

3. What do you say to the captains after you done the coin toss.

The Referee Store

the match, are there any questions that you ask and do you keep the email short.

For me. I get the email from the club. I thank them for getting in contact with me and and tell them I am looking forward to the game.

With the managers, I introduce myself. Ask them how they are. And if there are team sheets, I ask them if they are completed and if not, say can I have them by *(example) 2:45pm* completed properly.

For the captains, I don’t say much. I let the away team captain call heads or tails. Let’s say he picks the ball. I ask the home captain if he wants to swap ends. ‘Ok gentlemen, have a good game.’

That’s it for me.

1. Usually just say thanks for confirming and looking forward to it, occasionally ask about any location details if it's a sunday league pitch in a huge area

2. Hi I'm the ref, ****, nice to meet you! If they're away I ask if they've come far etc. Then if relevant (never is at my level) ask for team sheets by a certain time, if relevant ask if they have a club lino I can give a flag to