A&H

'Pub Football'

Bennn

Level 7 Referee
Just after Abit of advice...
I have been Reffing for about 7 months now I have reffed mainly U14/U16 aswell as U18s games.
I recently have been advised to start Reffing open aged matches.
I had my first game last week on the Sunday morning league (Pub League)
I really didn't know what to expect, I felt I handled the game well, there was a red card incident and two penalties.

I felt like I didn't get any respect from anyone wether it's my age (18) or just people didn't agree with my decisions. How do people cope with these games? I was vocal and clear with my decisions, I defused a few situations, there was a lot of challenges flying in and the game was very aggressive, I thought I did well a few lads coming off the pitch said I did well for my age and they wouldn't do it at my age.
I have my second game Sunday, just after some tips on controlling the game and player management with Sunday league

I'm also Reffing this Saturday on the line in a local county league, and have gone for my promotion so looking to try and get as far as I can :)
Thanks

The Referee Store
Hi Ben, congrats on the first OA game tucked away under your belt. those could be daunting sometimes so well done on completing it. It seems that you did well on the first game, from the impressions you got from some of the players without having any details about the match incidents i can't think of specific advice but some general tips i found helpful.

1- Enjoy it always, turn up with a smile and leave with a smile. It makes a difference, at least mentally to you if no one else.
2- Be confident, be big in your actions and your whistle and body language. This is not to say you should look to have controversial calls or be arrogant on the contrary. If you look confident and your signals show that, then hopefully you get less grief. I'm afraid being a referee you will always be subjected to that.