RefLive

What would you do?

Discussion in 'Match Incidents' started by Sheffields Finest, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    801
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    I was thinking about the strange Lee Trundle penalty the other week and how it perplexed ourselves and the lawmakers who probably never envisaged such an event taking place. So i was thinking of other circumvents that may be 'legal' in a penalty situation. The best one that comes to mind is a player going to strike a ball and initially going over the top with his foot (missing the ball) but continuing his forward movement of his foot (seeing the keeper commit to a dive either side) and doing a full 360 rotation with his foot and putting the ball in the opposite corner with the follow through without stopping. Technically its the same one movement, he hasn't stopped or feined, (he's struck it when he was ready) and I'm struggling to see how it could be cancelled out as the law is written.

    Until strange things happen we have no reference but is this technically allowable? Cue, Law Nerd attack!!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RefLive Advertisement RefLive

    RefLive
  4. Mintyref

    Mintyref Well-Known Member Level 6 Referee

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    304
    County FA/Organisation:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Far too much time on your hands if you can think up this rubbish, get back on the road drumming up business or spend some more of that hard earned brass on the little ladies next project.........h
     
  5. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    801
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    So you've no idea then!!!! :)
     
  6. Peter Grove

    Peter Grove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    321
    County FA/Organisation:
    Retired
    As far as I can see, once the player's foot goes over the ball there's no way he can do "a full 360 rotation" without having stopped his forward movement - and even if you somehow think he could, for me it's still a clear contravention of the intent of the law, which at least as I understand it, is to prevent the situation where a player, after having completed his run up to the ball, does something to make the keeper dive completely in one direction or the other, then rolls the ball into the now-unguarded net.
     
  7. Charlie Jones

    Charlie Jones Work Until You Don't Have To Introduce Yourself Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    618
    County FA/Organisation:
    Essex FA
    red card for the kick taker and restart with an IDFK to the opposition for making me use my brain!!!! lol
     
  8. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    801
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    4e9d7604dedf1ce50706ff7bac22ab48.jpg
    Come on Charlie...its in there somewhere!!!
     
    Charlie Jones likes this.
  9. Charlie Jones

    Charlie Jones Work Until You Don't Have To Introduce Yourself Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    618
    County FA/Organisation:
    Essex FA
    its usually the tin man us referee's are compared too!
     
    Tealeaf likes this.
  10. WilliamD

    WilliamD Active Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    81
    County FA/Organisation:
    Surrey FA
    USB ;-)
     
  11. James Long

    James Long Well-Known Member Level 4 Referee

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    230
    County FA/Organisation:
    Cheshire
    Going to refer back to Mr Ellarys response to my.query on that 1.

    It is upto the referee on the day to decide whether it is illegal feinting or the player acted against the spirit of the game.

    Or something along those lines.
     
  12. Sheffields Finest

    Sheffields Finest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    801
    County FA/Organisation:
    Non-affiliated
    Not sure how it's unsporting, he's effectively kicked a ball a bit slower than he should have done, players use such tricks all over the pitch and they are mostly legal.
     
  13. WilliamD

    WilliamD Active Member Level 7 Referee

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    81
    County FA/Organisation:
    Surrey FA
    If it tricked the keeper into diving it's probably a trick.
     
  14. DB

    DB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    535
    County FA/Organisation:
    RNFA
    Anyone got the video footage? I've been living under a rock this week
     
    Charlie Jones likes this.

Share This Page