RefSix

Recent content by Goldfish

  1. G

    One foul worse than the other - restart

    Hi My last word on this. A referee cannot in consecutive fouls decide to punish the second foul just because it is more serious because he hasn’t blown his whistle for the first foul. This comes back to integrity and honesty by the official. Soccer is not like other sports where misconduct can...
  2. G

    One foul worse than the other - restart

    Hi I am not talking about the ball being out of play. I am talking about the referees decision and his signal. Going back to the OP the ball is in play when the first foul happens, the referee decides to stop play and before he whistles there is a second foul. Irrespective if the ball is in play...
  3. G

    One foul worse than the other - restart

    Hi Nij You are arguing against yourself. If there is an offence and it happened first then that is the decision. In the offside who decided that the offence occurred BEFORE the offside. Did he communicate that by way of a signal. It was the referees decision and No he did not signal it. As...
  4. G

    One foul worse than the other - restart

    Hi Nij There has always been a distinction between decision and signal. The whistle is a signal of a referees decision. Most times it makes no difference yet there are times that it does such as the OP. I go back to the point that if there is a first foul and the referee decides that he is...
  5. G

    One foul worse than the other - restart

    Hi Nij Going to disagree on this one. Who stops play? The referee so once he decides to call the first foul that is it. The whistle is only the signal of his decision. As to the OP there is only one correct answer as written and that is to call the first careless foul. The second foul is...
  6. G

    Wearing of Wedding Rings

    Hi I know a player who lost his finger in training due to his wedding ring finger getting caught in a fence at the side of the field. It was a horrible injury. I meet him from time to time in games. Now the question I pose to referees is whether they would be content to meet that player again...
  7. G

    One foul worse than the other - restart

    Hi Nij When the referee decides that the first foul is being called then that is the decision. The second foul has technically happened when the ball is out of play based on the referees decision so Peter Grove is correct. The whistle is only the signal that an offence has been called...
  8. G

    Goalkeeper Six second law.

    Hi If it mandatory the laws says so with no discretion. In his instance the law say IDFK and that imo is sufficient punishment. In fact on the other IDFKs offences the law tells us that “If the goalkeeper handles the ball inside their penalty area when not permitted to do so, an indirect free...
  9. G

    Goalkeeper Six second law.

    Hi It is not a caution. It is listed with the other technical offences that results in an IDFK such as handling a backpass. They are not cautions so why would this offence be different. Probably likely it will end up as dissent but not usb
  10. G

    What does 'replacing' a goal keeper mean?

    Hi A goalkeeper can be replaced at any time with an outfield player provided it is done at a stoppage with the referee informed. That include Kicks from the Penalty Mark A goalkeeper can be substituted in Kicks from the Penalty Mark provided that the GK cannot continue and the team has an...
  11. G

    New goal kick trick

    Hi Before the change the defender could wait until the ball was on the penalty area line, step in and play the ball which always resulted in a retake. No card was used unless it was done repeatedly which I never saw. That used up significantly more time. Personally I felt the solution was to...
  12. G

    New goal kick trick

    Hi My tuppence worth I agree with Peter Grove that the only way that a trick can be committed is through the initiator. No kick / flick no trick. Also it has to be a caution for circumventing Law 12 irrespective of the use of hands or not. Now there has been much comment about circumvention...
  13. G

    Offside, or not?

    Hi Law 11 states "" receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball "" which I interpret is a long way from challenging an opponent who has just controlled it. In the OP the player in an offside obviously was close enough to 'nick' the ball from the defender. For me coming...
  14. G

    Preventing Goalkeeper from releasing the ball

    Hi If referees were to caution for every time a player "attempted" to prevent release yet came to nothing there would be many cautions issued in games. In the OP the release was not prevented and there was no IDFK offence. By all means had the player stopped the ball then a card. Better solution...
  15. G

    Poor Wording

    Hi The clarification given by IFAB is that " When the GK clearly kicks or tries to kick the ball into play, this shows no intention to handle the ball so, if the ‘clearance’ attempt is unsuccessful, the goalkeeper can then handle the ball without committing an offence"...
Top