A&H

Advice on Fouls

Harey

Hi,

I am still a new referee (in my view!) having only qualified at the end of last season. I've done about 10 games so far.

This evening I refereed a U16 Friendly. Game went well, a couple of areas I spotted for improvement next time. I know the home manager, thus the reason to be refereeing the game, and he gave me some feedback at the end.

He highlighted that I didn't stop for enough fouls, and missed some off the ball fouls behind me. So I am after advice on:
  • What is the recommended level for stopping on fouls, I thought I had given them all, but he must have thought otherwise; so what do newbies miss here?
  • How do you recommend spotting off the ball fouls, especially those behind you; clearly I am probably concentrating on the active play?
Thanks
Chris

The Referee Store
Hi,

I am still a new referee (in my view!) having only qualified at the end of last season. I've done about 10 games so far.

This evening I refereed a U16 Friendly. Game went well, a couple of areas I spotted for improvement next time. I know the home manager, thus the reason to be refereeing the game, and he gave me some feedback at the end.

He highlighted that I didn't stop for enough fouls, and missed some off the ball fouls behind me. So I am after advice on:
  • What is the recommended level for stopping on fouls, I thought I had given them all, but he must have thought otherwise; so what do newbies miss here?
  • How do you recommend spotting off the ball fouls, especially those behind you; clearly I am probably concentrating on the active play?
Thanks
Chris
Sounds like your foul recognition is ok to me. Maybe the coach couldn't be impartial

Following the ball is just a novice thing. You'll learn to trail an eye and linger for longer as you get more experience

What is the recommended level for stopping on fouls, I thought I had given them all, but he must have thought otherwise; so what do newbies miss here?