A&H

After game hand shake

one

RefChat Addict
Interested to know your thoughts on this. As a referee or as the second AR.

After the game, while referee and two assistants standing side-by-side an abviously disgruntled player comes and shakes hands with AR1, skips ref and shakes hands with AR2. It's very obvious the only reason he is shaking hand with ARs is to make the referee look bad.

I have as AR2, said to the player "referee first" in which case the player has just walked off. As a referee I have told my AR2 he shook hands with you to make me look bad (kind of making him feel guilty). Neither of those felt quite right.

The Referee Store
I don't really think it matters. If a player wants to be that vindictive and petty, go ahead. I'm not messing around playing games with people to force them to shake my hand. Think a thicker skin is needed tbh

Same as above, wont loose a minutes sleep either way,

I don't encourage my Ars to join me at the end anyway, personal choice, I don't like it, I totally detest seeing it on TV when the ARs sprint to the ref like bouncers, although I appreciate it might be regulations or best practise at other levels.

I also dont go looking for hand shakes, although of course its appreciated if anything comes my way, I want minimal interaction post match, as well as pre match.

I don't really think it matters. If a player wants to be that vindictive and petty, go ahead. I'm not messing around playing games with people to force them to shake my hand. Think a thicker skin is needed tbh
It's not about the handshake. Especially as an AR, I don't like being used to put the referee down.

It's not about the handshake. Especially as an AR, I don't like being used to put the referee down.

Imo if you are considering not shaking someones hand because they never shook the referee's hand then you (not you personally but the general you) are as immature as each other and even shaking the hands would mean nothing anyway