A&H

Do you have to signal using particular hands or can you use any hand?

newref

I was just wondering, when we signal for a goal kick, penalty kick, or offside, is there a particular hand this must be done in or can it be either as long as it's clear?

The Referee Store
As R or AR?

As R, the best practice is to use the arm that leaves your body most open to where most of the players are. For a goal kick, in a standard diagonal, that would typically be your left hand, which leaves you facing the middle of the field and your AR. If you're solo, you could end up in different places, which could give you different best choices.

As an AR, same basic concept, use your right hand (standard diagonal) so that the flag is away from the referee, not closing your body to him.

Rob, how did you get so many cautions and reds in 7 games? Which league do you referee? Is it the UFC league? ;p

I'm fairly strict, that's all it is.

In the past I was told I was a weak referee who didn't utilise his cards. In all my assessments since I've been able to return to refereeing I have been commended as utilising the cards correctly at the appropriate times and consistently across the 90 minutes. In fact, my only negative in that area is that I missed a caution in one match so... :cry:

I don't see it as a high card count tbh, it works out as an average of 4 cautions per game, which isn't much IMO. My average last season was 3.8 (or 1.9 home cautions and 1.9 away cautions). The model of consistency I guess. :rolleyes::redcard:

I'm fairly strict, that's all it is.

In the past I was told I was a weak referee who didn't utilise his cards. In all my assessments since I've been able to return to refereeing I have been commended as utilising the cards correctly at the appropriate times and consistently across the 90 minutes. In fact, my only negative in that area is that I missed a caution in one match so... :cry: