A&H

First Game - in the deep end

HalfDecentRef

Okay, so I’m 20 years old and starting reffing as a recommendation from my uncle. He’s been at it for at least 10 years. Anyway, I’ve been kind of thrown in at the deep end. I’m reffing open age straight away, this Sunday. The lads have been made aware I’m a trainee, but to be honest I wished I gave it a miss and reffed a youth game. This game is for a club that is listed on Wikipedia for goodness sake. Anyway, any advice? My uncle has offered to swap at half time if things go pear shaped.

The Referee Store
Okay, so I’m 20 years old and starting reffing as a recommendation from my uncle. He’s been at it for at least 10 years. Anyway, I’ve been kind of thrown in at the deep end. I’m reffing open age straight away, this Sunday. The lads have been made aware I’m a trainee, but to be honest I wished I gave it a miss and reffed a youth game. This game is for a club that is listed on Wikipedia for goodness sake. Anyway, any advice? My uncle has offered to swap at half time if things go pear shaped.
Nerves are compulsory... They show that you want to do well, whilst mirroring how good you'll feel afterwards

Your first game will be tough but I hope you don't let your uncle take over at half time.
Accept that you will make mistakes just like Sunday footballers will miss shots. Get the basics set in your head beforehand - I get hung up on pre match stuff like timekeeping so get to the ground reasonably early to do pitch inspection etc.
Don't be intimidated and feel free to use the sin bin from the off.

Having a game that can easily go pear shaped to start with is not a bad ideas as long as it doesn't make you quit straight after. I know many who have started with a tough game and siad this isn't for me at the end of it.

Although things can go very well, be prepared that it could also go south and if that happens, it doesn't mean refereeing is not for you, it means it probably wasn't a good idea to start with that game.