A&H

Goalkeeper handling offence in penalty area + DOGSO

Hazzy

New Member
Level 7 Referee
Hello, I’m getting frustrated with one scenario. Can someone of knowledge please clarify:

If a goalkeeper commits a handling offence INSIDE the penalty area (e.g. following a deliberate pass-back from a team-mate), and in doing so, denies the opponent a goal-scoring opportunity, are they exempt from disciplinary sanction?

The LOTG is appearing very grey on this SPECIFIC scenario. I understand it is an IDFK, but should it be red card, yellow card or no card?
 
A&H International
The law is very clear on this matter actually:

If the goalkeeper handles the ball inside their penalty area when not permitted to do so, an indirect free kick is awarded but there is no disciplinary sanction. However, if the offence is playing the ball a second time (with or without the hand/arm) after a restart before it touches another player, the goalkeeper must be sanctioned if the offence stops a promising attack or denies an opponent or the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity.

The only time a GK "handling" offence within their own area is sanctioned is where the keeper plays the ball a 2nd time following a restart offence. However, this is not a handling offence, its playing the ball a 2nd time following a restart offence that has been committed using hand/arm.
 
Your differentiation between restart offence vs handling offence is understood. To solidify my understanding, what is the correct procedure for the following:

If, not from a restart, a team-mate executes a standard in-play deliberate pass-back, and the keeper picks the ball up in their penalty area, and in doing so, denies the opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity? What is the correct procedure here?
 
Your differentiation between restart offence vs handling offence is understood. To solidify my understanding, what is the correct procedure for the following:

If, not from a restart, a team-mate executes a standard in-play deliberate pass-back, and the keeper picks the ball up in their penalty area, and in doing so, denies the opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity? What is the correct procedure here?
Indirect free kick from wherever the keeper handles the ball unless within the goal area then it is taken from the edge of the goal area parallel with goal line closest to where the offence took place.
All opponents must be 10 yards from the ball or on the goal line between the goal posts.
No sanction.
 
Indirect free kick from wherever the keeper handles the ball unless within the goal area then it is taken from the edge of the goal area parallel with goal line closest to where the offence took place.
All opponents must be 10 yards from the ball or on the goal line between the goal posts.
No sanction.
Legend. Thank you
 
Honestly, this is one set of scenarios that get me. Just trying to remember if it's handling in open play or from the restart that requires the sanction. I can never quite remember which way round when thinking about it without it written down.
 
Honestly, this is one set of scenarios that get me. Just trying to remember if it's handling in open play or from the restart that requires the sanction. I can never quite remember which way round when thinking about it without it written down.
I'm with you there. This very nearly caught me out earlier in the season. Luckily I hadn't taken anything out of my pockets yet so I got away with it! I'm starting to remember the difference more easily now just because I keep reminding myself.
 
I strongly suspect that the ex professionals are likely to come from further down the pyramid, reducing the risk of high profile conflicts. SG1/2 salary is likely to not be miles off, possibly more, than those playing at the lower end of professional game such as those teams on the National League, and full time teams at Step 2.
Time will tell but I am certainly not going to lose sleep over this. Personally think it should be welcomed.
Wrong topic?
 
Back
Top