RefSix

Handball change

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#1
I'm not sure what will be the wording in the law, or what is "commentary / guidance" but:

Definition of handball offences
Law 12 –FOULS AND MISCONDUCT
It is an offence if a player:
•deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, including moving the hand/arm towards the ball
•gains possession/control of the ball after it has touched their hand/arm and then:
•scores in the opponents’ goal
•creates a goal-scoring opportunity
•scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper


Doesn't the last bit mean a GK could no longer score by throwing the ball from his own penalty area into the opponents' goal?
 

Ganajin

Active Member
#2
It sure does. I am not sure if this has ever happened in the last 100 years, but it's now gonna get disallowed.
 
Last edited:

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#7
A couple of irrelevant posts there....

I'd think a big lad on a junior pitch.... Or the opponent GK having gone up for a late corner, the GK in his own PA gets the ball and an opponent stops him kicking from the PA to the empty net and he throws it....

But if it is intended, it actually changes what the GK can do within his own area. I can't imagine it's intended - wouldn't the restart be a penalty against the GK who threw the ball?
 

spuddy1878

RefChat Addict
#9
A couple of irrelevant posts there....

I'd think a big lad on a junior pitch.... Or the opponent GK having gone up for a late corner, the GK in his own PA gets the ball and an opponent stops him kicking from the PA to the empty net and he throws it....

But if it is intended, it actually changes what the GK can do within his own area. I can't imagine it's intended - wouldn't the restart be a penalty against the GK who threw the ball?
Not going to happen.

Why would a keeper as you suggest with an open goal try and throw a ball 100 yards or so when he can kick it ?
 

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#10
Not going to happen.

Why would a keeper as you suggest with an open goal try and throw a ball 100 yards or so when he can kick it ?
I just suggested exactly why. Maybe he's crap at kicking but good at throwing.

Its barely even humanly possible, nevermind likely to happen
That's it. Bound to happen this week now.
 

Ciley Myrus

RefChat Addict
#11
Slightly off topic but I was at a game where Schemical scored an over head kick but it was (correctly) ruled out for offside

I had a thought after that that the gk should be exempt from being offside
 

Ganajin

Active Member
#12
Pretty much next season if the ball hits your hand or arm its going to be handball.
Actually I think not. The Laws are now generally going to say NO handling offence if:

•the ball touches a player’s hand/arm directly from their own head/body/foot or the head/body/foot of another player who is close/near

which will rule out a huge number of the "handballs" that are appealed for (and often given).
 

socal lurker

Well-Known Member
#14
I did say pretty much not in every case.
I think you are overreading the changes. They are not a lot different from the interpretations used by IFAB/UEFA that had stripped deliberate from real meaning in certain contexts. So don't see as much actual change--thelaw will better fit the instructions to refs. At lower levels we will still see a lot of non-offense balls hitting arms.

I'm not sure what will be the wording in the law, or what is "commentary / guidance" but:

Definition of handball offences
Law 12 –FOULS AND MISCONDUCT
It is an offence if a player:
•deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, including moving the hand/arm towards the ball
•gains possession/control of the ball after it has touched their hand/arm and then:
•scores in the opponents’ goal
•creates a goal-scoring opportunity
•scores in the opponents’ goal directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper


Doesn't the last bit mean a GK could no longer score by throwing the ball from his own penalty area into the opponents' goal?
The full language of all the changes is available: http://theifab.com/document/for-football-bodies
 

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#15
Here's another gem. "If, after a throw-in or deliberate pass from a team-mate, the goalkeeper unsuccessfully kicks or tries to kick the ball to release it into play, the goalkeeper can then handle the ball." So it's in the GK's interest to (deliberately) miss his kick as he can then pick the ball up...
 

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#16
I think you are overreading the changes. They are not a lot different from the interpretations used by IFAB/UEFA that had stripped deliberate from real meaning in certain contexts. So don't see as much actual change--thelaw will better fit the instructions to refs. At lower levels we will still see a lot of non-offense balls hitting arms.



The full language of all the changes is available: http://theifab.com/document/for-football-bodies
I'm obviously not overreading it, as buried in revised law 10 is the answer to my own question:
"If the goalkeeper throws the ball directly into the opponents’ goal, a goal kick is awarded."
 

socal lurker

Well-Known Member
#17
I'm obviously not overreading it, as buried in revised law 10 is the answer to my own question:
"If the goalkeeper throws the ball directly into the opponents’ goal, a goal kick is awarded."
You might want to read posts more carefully before you criticize them. Overreading did not refer to you in my post--I answered your post by providing you the link to the full language of the changes as you said you weren't sure what the actual wording would be. You're welcome.
 

AlexF

RefChat Addict
#18
Here's another gem. "If, after a throw-in or deliberate pass from a team-mate, the goalkeeper unsuccessfully kicks or tries to kick the ball to release it into play, the goalkeeper can then handle the ball." So it's in the GK's interest to (deliberately) miss his kick as he can then pick the ball up...
And if the referee determines that he's "(deliberately)" missed his kick... then the referee can now intervene and still penalize.

How do we determine if it's deliberate? We're not completely stupid and we have football sense (well, most of us do at least....)
 

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#19
You might want to read posts more carefully before you criticize them. Overreading did not refer to you in my post--I answered your post by providing you the link to the full language of the changes as you said you weren't sure what the actual wording would be. You're welcome.
"I think you are overreading the changes" does not refer to me? How odd...

Anyway I am grateful for the link and hope the 2019/20 edition of LOTG will indicate where the changes are.
 

bloovee

RefChat Addict
#20
And if the referee determines that he's "(deliberately)" missed his kick... then the referee can now intervene and still penalize.

How do we determine if it's deliberate? We're not completely stupid and we have football sense (well, most of us do at least....)
Why introduce a change that means we have to determine what's deliberate? How odd....
 
Top