RefSix

World Cup New laws applied incorrectly?

zarathustra

RefChat Addict
#4
Unlucky, things like this are going to happen when new laws are introduced, although you would expect FIFA referees to be more aware of the changes in the laws.
 

markref

Well-Known Member
#5
It was weird seeing a goal kick played across the PA, received inside the area and not retaken. It’s going to be weird not having to tell them “I know it’s not a goal kick, but it’s still got to go out of the area!”
 

Yampy

RefChat Addict
#7
Hasn’t there been a change of possession? And therefore would require a drop ball?
I suppose we'll argue the toss about possession for the next 9 months but in this case it looks to me as though no one had possession because France had already lost it through the miscontrol/dummy.
However, for me that's irrelevant as after the ball hit the referee, South Korea were able to start a promising attack thus, I feel a dropped ball should have been the correct call.
(I'd like to have seen South Korea score from that attack and see what VAR would have done.)
 

alexgr

RefChat Addict
#12
I suppose we'll argue the toss about possession for the next 9 months but in this case it looks to me as though no one had possession because France had already lost it through the miscontrol/dummy.
However, for me that's irrelevant as after the ball hit the referee, South Korea were able to start a promising attack thus, I feel a dropped ball should have been the correct call.
(I'd like to have seen South Korea score from that attack and see what VAR would have done.)
Well, I was thinking France passed the ball, hits the ref, goes to South Korea. That to me, irrespective of what happens in between, is a change of possession as no-one else has touched it? Just my thoughts
 
#13
Well, I was thinking France passed the ball, hits the ref, goes to South Korea. That to me, irrespective of what happens in between, is a change of possession as no-one else has touched it? Just my thoughts
Is it that simple? If the ball want going to a French player? I think real world implementation of this is harder than the common sense concept behind it. (And it takes us as Refs breaking ingrained habits.) I suspect with time refs are going to start to default to a DB instead of continuing except where it is clear it had no impact.
 

Yampy

RefChat Addict
#15
I don't see any reason to over-analyse this situation, go off whoever last touched the ball.
But that isn't what the law says. The new clause for "The ball is out of play when" states:

it touches a match official, remains on the field of play and:

"a team starts a promising attack or

the ball goes directly into the goal or

the team in possession of the ball changes

In all these cases, play is restarted with a dropped ball."

It makes no mention of the last team to touch the ball.

Consider a Red team has a corner which is taken, outswinging to a Red player on the edge of the D. Red volleys the ball to goal and it strikes a Blue defender legimately but the rebound hits the referee. Assuming no goal is scored after it hits the referee or the Blue team does not start a promising attack, who's in possession? Did it change?
 

QuaverRef

I used to be indecisive but now i'm not so sure
#16
I don't see any reason to over-analyse this situation, go off whoever last touched the ball.
Is that technically possession though?

If a player tries to kick the ball upfield, it takes a slight nick off a defender, hits the referee and lands back at the player who initially kicked the ball, are we then awarding a drop ball?
 

zarathustra

RefChat Addict
#17
But that isn't what the law says. The new clause for "The ball is out of play when" states:

it touches a match official, remains on the field of play and:

"a team starts a promising attack or

the ball goes directly into the goal or

the team in possession of the ball changes

In all these cases, play is restarted with a dropped ball."

It makes no mention of the last team to touch the ball.

Consider a Red team has a corner which is taken, outswinging to a Red player on the edge of the D. Red volleys the ball to goal and it strikes a Blue defender legimately but the rebound hits the referee. Assuming no goal is scored after it hits the referee or the Blue team does not start a promising attack, who's in possession? Did it change?
In that instance I would say play on.

Neither team had possession, it didn't go in the goal and no one started a promising attack.

If the ball had hit the referee directly from the corner (or an deliberate play i.e. a pass) and then fell to the blue team I would say that is a change in possession.
 
Top