A&H

Offside or not

simmo9762

Level 7 Referee
Ladies and Gents, another newbie here and have watched a few games in various local leagues but am still a little confused.
SCENARIO:-
Attacker is slightly offside and is close to a defender who (obviuosly doesn't want to risk a gaolscoring opportunity) averts the percieved immediate threat with a deflected clearence, or can be adjudged to have felt that way. The ball continues towards the defenders end and the attacker then runs after the ball and collects it.
1st Question is that offside and if so at what point
2nd The ball rolls out for a throw in as he chases it down, is it a throw or simlarly a corner if it had gone out behind

Sorry if been asked before

The Referee Store
First thing first Slight offside should be rephrased to offside by a small margin.:). one can't be slightly offside. One is either onside or offside :D

Your description of question one is play on. It doesn't sound like the attacker interfered with the defender. Poor decision making or poor play of the ball (not using the word deflection) does not count twards interference.

Question 2, if the ball goes out before the offside attacker interfered with play or with an opponent the attacker can not be penalised for offside

If the attacker, who was marginally offside;), was so close to the defender it caused the attempted clearance but didn't challenge, would you class that as interfering with play seeing as his presence caused the header and the resulting advantage of possession

Not necessarily. I,d have to see it but it doesn't sou d like it. Interferering with play and interferering with an opponent have specific and precise definition under the laws of the game.

Screenshot_20190625-012012__01.jpg