A&H

Pre-Game Nerves

anonref

Level 7 Referee
Hi all, hope you're all doing well.

I've been reffing for about 3 years now and last weekend I had my first game in about a year as I did not referee at uni last year. Before the game and leading up to the game this Saturday I am experiencing more nerves than I can remember having in the past. It's mostly just general worries about what can go wrong in a game like making the wrong decision or missing a crucial moment.

I was just wondering if any of you have nerves before a game or if they go over time as you get more experience.

Thanks all :)

The Referee Store
I often get nerves prior to a game. They are generally a good sign.
They usually subside upon arrival at the game but the drive there and usually across the morning before I can get a bit anxious.

me always, never not nervous before a game

got a friendly tonight, step 5 v 6, been nervous all day

Yup. As others have said, it's the anticipation that's the worst bit. But as soon as you get there and start going through the motions (introductions, getting changed, warm-up), the autopilot will kick in. Once you've blown to kick off, there'll be too much going on in the moment and you won't be able to worry too much about what might happen in future!

I get them. If it's a Saturday afternoon game, it's repeated toilet breaks in the morning, stopping the car just down the road from my house to triple check if I've got all of my kit.

Getting to the venue starts to calm the nerves and then once I get into team sheets and beyond its into the zone.

Nerves and doubts are normal, don't let them rule you!

Bill Russel, one of the greatest basketball players of all time (11 NBA championships), famously threw up before every game from nerves . . .

Is Big Cat the Big Dog then when it comes to optimal arousal advice? Asking for a friend!!
Those days are a flickering memory!