A&H

Reffing games involving family

Scottybee

Level 7 Referee
What are people’s thoughts/experience on reffing games where a family member is playing?

I’ve been my Son’s coach for 12 years of youth football and this year he’s starting His final youth season in the U18s. I’ve stepped down as coach so I can ref more games as the club is desperately short of officials.

It’s been suggested to me that I shouldn’t do any of his/my old teams games to avoid “a conflict of interest”

However I am due to ref him this weekend as I’m the only official available, I’m thinking it’s a situation that is best avoided IF possible as I could leave myself open to accusations of favouritism etc Should the game Have any incidents. I am confident I can ref it impartially but am I under any obligation to disclose the situation to league or opposition?

I’ve reffed him before in preseason friendlies where the oppo coach knows I’m a coach/parent but never in a league game with points up for grabs.

Your advice/thoughts would be helpful pls

The Referee Store
Assuming this is just amateur football then surely the best outcome is for you to do the game? Far better than having no referee. Parents/coaches ref their kids all the time.

Whether it's our kids we're reffing or whether it's 2 teams of whom we know nothing about, there is always the possibility of accusations of favouritism. I wouldn't worry about it, go and do the game and enjoy it.

I’ve refereed most of my son’s home matches for a couple of seasons (he is U13 now). Before I did it I discussed this with the County RDO and league Ref Sec. Neither had a problem with me doing this. The County RDO told me he had often refereed his brother at a fairly senior level. The leagues round here are so short of qualified refs that they are grateful for the support. I would check the league rules, though, as one of the other leagues I occasionally ref in has conflict of interest written into their constitution.