A&H

Surgeon to be, ambitious referee

yagh

Hello everyone,

I hope you're all doing great. Let me introduce myself to you all. I am a 24 year old doctor, who will be training very soon to become a surgeon. It is my ultimate dream to become a top class football referee. I've never had a course in refereeing before, but I am planning to do so very soon. The Q is, my job + my dream of becoming a referee, how realistic is it? Do you guys think I can balance the two? Will my age be an obstacle? Will I be able to reach the top?

Sorry for the detailed questions, but I am hoping I can get an informative feedback.

Thanks!

The Referee Store
Good luck and best of luck!

The biggest problem with your current job and refereeing is (and correct me if I'm wrong as I'm not a doctor, just friends who are) changes in your availability.

Refereeing at Level 4 and above (and to a similar extent 7-5) needs you to be aware of when you can and can't referee at least 6 weeks in advance and once you have been given a game it does not go down well if you then can't referee it.

Certainly not saying it would be impossible, but your current job requires a huge amount of time, refereeing can regularly take 7 hours in an evening (5pm to midnight) or Saturday afternoon (midday to 7pm) and that's just at my level!

Good luck and best of luck!

The biggest problem with your current job and refereeing is (and correct me if I'm wrong as I'm not a doctor, just friends who are) changes in your availability.

Refereeing at Level 4 and above (and to a similar extent 7-5) needs you to be aware of when you can and can't referee at least 6 weeks in advance and once you have been given a game it does not go down well if you then can't referee it.

Certainly not saying it would be impossible, but your current job requires a huge amount of time, refereeing can regularly take 7 hours in an evening (5pm to midnight) or Saturday afternoon (midday to 7pm) and that's just at my level!