A&H

What’s your Ref routine?

GCS1982

So referee’s out there, what’s your match routine? Experienced ref’s ,inexperienced ref’s what do you do on a match day, what time do you get there? Do you inspect the strips & players? How long do you take to go through the team sheets? How long do you take to inspect pitch,nets etc,

Do you have a chat with the coaches or teams prior to coming out of the changing rooms? Do you inform the teams what you expect or not what you expect? A lot of these will be basic to you, but that’s what I am after, as after all I am just beginning my career as a referee.

Any information or your experiences will be appreciated

The Referee Store
So referee’s out there, what’s your match routine? Experienced ref’s ,inexperienced ref’s what do you do on a match day, what time do you get there? Do you inspect the strips & players? How long do you take to go through the team sheets? How long do you take to inspect pitch,nets etc,

Do you have a chat with the coaches or teams prior to coming out of the changing rooms? Do you inform the teams what you expect or not what you expect? A lot of these will be basic to you, but that’s what I am after, as after all I am just beginning my career as a referee.

It varies totally depending on the level, league and country. I do games from hobby league with no ARs up to lower league games with betting companies taking stats.

The former: 15mins, stretch, nets, team sheet, count the players, check the ball, remind them to play to the whistle (no official equipment check, flying subs at grassroots).

The later: 60mins, greet coaches, discuss as a three, training gear, check 3 balls and match card, inspect pitch, instructions to coaches, 15min warm up, briefing, match gear, check buzzers, line ups, inpection, walk players to pitch, respect handshake, coin toss, check nets again... (we don’t wear suits until the very top).

Where are you in the world and what level/age games?