A&H

Advice - Dealing with U16 - U18's

magpie1892

Level 7 Referee
I am a fairly newly qualified referee having done my course in March, so far amongst other games I have done two U17 matches and tomorrow I have an U18's match.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips on a few things

1) how to deal with young men who are in the Kevin and Perry stage and complain about everything.

2) I feel as though I may be more lenient with players calling for fouls, they seem to want fouls for everything but for young adults they seem to hit the floor for very soft touches and I don't give into their complaining for FK.

3) I'm not the fittest person in the world (working on it!) and finding it physically demanding doing 40 minutes halves. I'm doing lots of running so think I may need to work on positioning, any advice?

4) Last week I had a game Blue v Red, red #14 had some handbags so decided to book him, he tried to run away before I was finished with him so whistled for him back after a bit of moaning he eventually came back to me and told him I was still dealing with him and gave him a YC. About 5 minutes later he goes in with a strong tackle ball goes out for a throw and the blue team are calling for red card, also look as though handbags may start so few blows on the whistle and call the player over and tell everyone else do disappear, gave him a very stern warning to calm down and watch his tackling as he's on a yellow card already and dealt with him through man management rather than cards, does this sound the right thing to do?

Thanks
Mike

The Referee Store
I am a fairly newly qualified referee having done my course in March, so far amongst other games I have done two U17 matches and tomorrow I have an U18's match.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips on a few things

1) how to deal with young men who are in the Kevin and Perry stage and complain about everything.