A&H

How many games a week?

How many games can I as a referee do per week without my performance dropping? Towards the end of last season, I was refereeing almost 6 games a week plus small sided football. There was only once or maybe two days in a week where I wasn’t refereeing in some form. At the start of the week my fitness and concentration was good, but as the week progressed I found it got worse and worse, as did my decision making. I’ve come home feeling quite guilty and disappointed in myself after a bad game, and it happens quite often - I’m now a level 6 referee and am still making silly mistakes, it makes me feel bad when I’m considering applying to br promoted again next season. How many games should I be refereeing a week, how many days rest should I have between games, and what can I do to boost (or even maintain) a decent level of concentration during matches when tired so I can avoid making mistakes and come home happy with myself.

The Referee Store
Each person will have different levels of fitness and be capable of different amounts but I’ve found in the past that any more than 2 middles and my enthusiasm for football drops.

Fitness-wise I could probably manager 3-4 games in a 7 day period but my tolerance, patience and enjoyment would reduce dramatically in the 3rd and 4th game.

I don’t feel this would be fair on the clubs that’d be paying a fee for a referee who didn’t want to be there!

There's no right and wrong answer and will differ per person. If I did 6 games in a week I wouldn't be able to walk for the next week, let alone referee, whereas 10 years ago I often did three games in a weekend and 5 or 6 over the course of the week.

Concentration issues generally come in when doing two or more games in a day.

That's a such a personal question no one here could give you an answer.
Age, physiology, exercise tolerance all are individual characteristics.