A&H

Recognising Fouls

JoeyR1708

Hi,
I’m still new to refereeing and one thing that I’m struggling with is foul recognition. On my initial course foul recognition in my opinion wasn’t something that we covered very well.

Can you give me some tips on how to decide if a challenge is a foul and maybe some examples of common fouls you’ve experienced?

Thank you!🙂

The Referee Store
I'm a year in now and I would say that I found the same thing. I can't offer any top tips I'm afraid. I think it just comes down to getting games under your belt and also watching other referees on games.

I would add that at the start my foul tolerance was probably too high, perhaps due to being too cautious, but is dropping down a bit now.

Hard to do on paper . . .

Start with, in your opinion, did a player do something that was unfair or unsafe towards another player--that's really what all of the specific fouls are designed to address.

In a challenge for the ball, significant contact with an opponent without or before getting to the ball is usually a foul

A player who is playing the opponent rather than playing the ball is likely committing a foul.

Doing games and watching games with a good referee at the level you are reffing are the best ways to learn. And if you can get an experienced ref to watch you, that can give you some insight into what you aren't seeing/recognizing.

Yeah, I think Socal has the key point right. It's a little more complicated that this, but for a beginner ref working at grassroots level, working off the basis of ball first = no foul and player first = foul will get you 95% of the way in judging on-the-ground challenges.

The remaining 5% are the ones where the level of force/risk is so high that it needs to be a foul (and probably a card) regardless of contact - the sign for those is that if you're sucking air in through your teeth at a challenge, you probably need to be blowing that air out into your whistle!