A&H

The Match Official Blog - 2nd pre-season Match

I was desperate to do more matches. I got an e-mail about pre-seasons friendly but I learnt quickly that referees are very quick off the mark and as soon as they get an e-mail about a pre-season friendly they reply within seconds. I missed out on a few - gutted!!

I decided to "advertise" the fact I was looking for pre-seasons games on Twitter in my local area and asked Kent FA and other people to re-tweet it. Within a couple of days a manager made contact with me asking if I was willing to do Under13games. 100% yes. Any game is always good for me. We exchanged a few tweets and direct messages and numbers. He phoned me up and I still didn't catch the teams names but that didn't really matter to me, I got a game. I remember speaking to the manager and remember him saying they play 4 20minute sessions. I thought this was strange as I have never done this before, but hey - it will be an experience.

The game was to be played on 17th July 2012 at 7pm KO at Cobdown Sports Centre. I know the location well so didnt need directions. When the game was confirmed i sent a text message to a colleague at working telling them that I will defiantly need to leave on time and her reply was that it could be interesting as most of my cioleagues will be out the office on different operational duties - PANTS. This caused me a few worries as I had promised to do a game as was very worried I could not get off work on time. The day before I had 1.5hrs overtime and I was praying that today would not be a repeat of that.