A&H

Clarification needed

Phonesurgeon

Cook, Cleaner and Bottle Washer
Level 7 Referee
Hi guys a bit of a silly question,
I am a new referee and on 22nd August I will start in the Harrogate&District League(OA).
Am I meant to have some sort of a mentor, for my initial 6 games?
If so how does it work? Sorry for the noob(ish) question

The Referee Store
County FA should appoint a mentor to all newly-qualified referees. You can speak to your RDO and request one I thinkthink

If you ask for a mentor they will sort you one hopefully but don't automatically get assigned unfortunately.

Hi guys a bit of a silly question,
I am a new referee and on 22nd August I will start in the Harrogate&District League(OA).
Am I meant to have some sort of a mentor, for my initial 6 games?
If so how does it work? Sorry for the noob(ish) question
When your course was completed you will have been sent an email detailing the name and phone number of your mentor (this is the current practice within WRCFA).

You need to understand that your mentor may still be an active referee, as assessor, tutor or have another role within football, such as League or Fixture Secretary and as such will have little free time to actually come and watch you referee.

They can however provide a sounding board for any issues or questions you may have from any of your games, not just the first six. The onus for contact is the responsibility of the new referee although I usually try to send out a welcome to refereeing email to my mentees. Referee mentors are not used by new referees as much as they should be, but are a valuable source of support and information. The Mentors may have as many as 20 new referees to look after each season from teh various courses although these numbers will change with the new course format from September 1st.

Phone Steve or Mark on Monday at the County office for details of your mentor if you can't find your email.