A&H

Considering hanging up the whistle

zarathustra

RefChat Addict
I’ve been refereeing for about 6 years give it take with a couple of seasons where I had a break after my son was born and then a dislocated knee which took the best part of the following season to recover from and then lockdowns etc.

I had a slow start to this season, but I’m just not enjoying it like I used to. The behaviour of the teams seems to be worse, and I’m struggling to justify why I should give up a morning with my son so I can go and get spoken to like dirt.

I’m fairly sure it isn’t me, as the issues have been with the same team each time.

there was a contentious decision with a couple of minutes to go where this team had a goal ruled out for a contentious offside decision. This lead to handbags after the whistle, though nothing really worth writing to the CFA about, basically one of their supporters accusing the away car of being a cheat followed by some pushing and shoving etc.

it’s a shame as I enjoyed my game last week very much, and while this didn’t involve a mass con or assaults etc it’s always it a bit like you remember the two of three bad games but not the hundreds of good games.

with the shortage of match officials there isn’t even anyone from the local RA who I could as k to watch a couple of my games, just to see if they spot something that I might be doing wrong.

I’m not going to rush into anything too hasty, but I seem to have three options to consider:

1) pack in refereeing altogether
2) just pack in Sunday mornings and concentrate more on Saturday afternoons
3) tell the league that I won’t referee this particular team again.

The Referee Store
I would at least speak to the league - it might (more than likely) be that there's a number of ref's in the same boat with this team, and the league might consider sanctions against the team a better option than losing ref's?