A&H

Familiarity breeds contempt.......

mikedn

Referee/Mentor
Up until last week i always used to chat to the home manager when i got the ground, talk about the condition of the pitch, any previous match history between the teams, general chat about whateve,r but keeping it brief.
Also when i spoke to the away manager i would confirm with him about the condition of the pitch (bumps,dips etc) again mention the past history between the teams and get his version and also just general chat but again all but brief. But now i think to myself.... does this give them the impression i'm a soft referee? do they think they can get away with things because i'm friendly?
After 5 red cards and 17 yellow cards so far this season i'm beginning to think so.Eleven yellows for dissent and 3 reds for second yellows for dissent. So i think there might be something in this.
So from this week, by the rules, get the team sheets,check the shirt numbers match the players then see how the cards go over the next month.

The Referee Store
Personality (i.e. having one) is a massive part of being an effective referee in my opinion, as the ability and confidence to communicate is a big part of the job. It gives off a sense of confidence that I find club officials in general react positively to. So, no I don't think your approach is making any difference, and once you have started dishing out cards most players would realise pretty quickly where your tolerance levels are at, so I can't see how what you say before the game is making a difference.

For me, I am similar in that I try and speak to the managers or club officials in a very down-to-earth way, general chit chat etc. before the game. What I wouldn't do is talk about previous history between the teams as this is either irrelevant, or you know about it already and it doesn't need to be said. However, there is nothing wrong with everything else, just keep it professional but friendly.