A&H

New futsal referee - promotion system

davidmt

Hi everyone!

I'm a referee moving from abroad, and I will continue to referee football and futsal. I have some questions regarding futsal, since there is less information available...

- For a referee, does it have the same promotion system as football? And levels?
- Does the season have the same length as football? Starting/ending dates?
- Does anyone have experience refereeing both simultaneously in the UK? How do you manage?
- Do you referee teams or schools, mostly?

Any other tips will be welcomed! I will be in South Yorkshire, by the way.

Thanks!

The Referee Store
Hi everyone!

I'm a referee moving from abroad, and I will continue to referee football and futsal. I have some questions regarding futsal, since there is less information available...

- For a referee, does it have the same promotion system as football? And levels?
- Does the season have the same length as football? Starting/ending dates?
- Does anyone have experience refereeing both simultaneously in the UK? How do you manage?
- Do you referee teams or schools, mostly?

Any other tips will be welcomed! I will be in South Yorkshire, by the way.

Thanks!
I have never refereed futsal but I can tell you it isn't the same levels in terms of promotion. That's all I know. You could email your RDO (Refereeing Development Officer) at your new County FA if you want more information, as I'm sure they will either know or will be able to tell you who to contact if they don't.

RDO for Futsal is marc.birkett@fafutsalreferees.com

South Yorkshire good location as the training events are usually in Derby, and plenty of uni teams about.
Futsal levels are different. There's only 4.
You may be able to get placed above level 4 if you've reached a higher level abroad.

In practice there's a lack of referees so you may get games above your level anyway.

Very few schools play futsal, and if they do it'll be more like 5 a side.