A&H

Substitutions

WalterPinkman

Hello,

Sorry if this sounds a bit stupid. I am a new referee about to do my 5 games for the course and I never really understood the substitution procedure and I still am not sure even through checking the LOTG book. I just wondered if when you stop play for a substitution, you go to the touchline to check the substitutions equipment, etc. or if you wave them on from the centre of the field.

Thanks very much:)

The Referee Store
if you are own your own, which you mostly will be you go over check studs and no jewellery, doing it from the centre circle is just plain lazy, and an assessor wont be happy. the only stupid question is the one you are afraid to ask, there are a lot of referees on here happy to help with advice, good luck with your refereeing

Reactions: Kes
if you are own your own, which you mostly will be you go over check studs and no jewellery, doing it from the centre circle is just plain lazy, and an assessor wont be happy. the only stupid question is the one you are afraid to ask, there are a lot of referees on here happy to help with advice, good luck with your refereeing
Thank You

me personally, I do a complete kit/boot/jewellery check before the game for everyone (or I'm super lazy and get my assistants too if in a team of 3) that way its done and i don't have to go from my position on the field to the touchline and check.

when the sub is made, I take a quick note of the leaving players number and always call the sub over to me with a quick (yes please player) ask the number, note it down and play on (noting it down after gives the player 2 seconds to get into his position (also gives me a couple minutes breather!!))

hope that helps you

me personally, I do a complete kit/boot/jewellery check before the game for everyone (or I'm super lazy and get my assistants too if in a team of 3) that way its done and i don't have to go from my position on the field to the touchline and check.