A&H

Would you report this?

DazN

Level 7 Referee
Referee didn’t turn up for my son’s U13 game this morning so the home side had the guy from the cafe stand-in.

I was CAR and as he gave me his pre-match talk I got the impression he didn’t really want to do it so I said I was a referee myself and offered to officiate but he assured me he was an ex-league referee and knew what he was doing so I thought fair enough.

I hate criticising a referee but he didn’t have a great game. The game was out of control by half time with lots of dissent and some bad tackles going in. He sin-binned a lad for 5 minutes for a bad tackle at one point and didn’t know how to restart following a head injury.

In the second half I gave two clear offsides against the home CF which he reacted badly to despite his coach shouting he was clearly offside both times. The only other incident was a ball that I indicated has crossed the goal-line which resulted in a goal for the home side. The away side ended up winning 4-3 and ended a long unbeaten run for the home side so tempers were frayed.

As I was walking back to the referee to give him his flag the home CF called me a *****. I turned to his coach and told him to which he shrugged and then I said I was going report it to the league to which he said ‘You’re not the appointed ref, you have no authority to do anything’ The same player then shouted ‘Yeah piss off’ to me. Another lad then said ‘He always cheats’ as I’d officiated him for another team before and he clearly didn’t like my decisions. I told the ref but seeing as he is just a bloke helping out I doubt he’ll do anything.

Our league has a respect app that we can report but that is meant for refs so I’m not sure what I should/can do? It feels wrong to do nothing.

The Referee Store
That absolutely has to be reported. I don't give one if I'm standing in and not actually appointed.
Taken from FA futsal and mini soccer handbook: