A&H

Andy Townsend!!!

A

Arran Williams

:mad:

listening to this actually hurt my ears! sooner he goes the better as he regularly ruins a champions league night!

The Referee Store
apparently not but it's the way Townsend tries to justify that tackle, even though his co-commentator (i cant put a name to him at the moment) quotes LOTG and suggests maybe that was excessive force

I think his co-commentator was with him at the Man Utd v West Ham match last night, he quoted LOTG a couple of times and even said he had it with him!

Think its Clive Tyldesley. Really rate him as a commentator. Townsend not so much.

"Your studs will naturally be up when you lunge."

Well don't lunge then. Agree with above, definate red for me.

Maybe because Howard played advantage, couldn't go back and send off?

Im still learning though.

Got to be red all day for me. speed, studs and height. Obviously can't have looked as bad from Howard's angle. He never gets anything wrong. Ever!

Think its Clive Tyldesley. Really rate him as a commentator. Townsend not so much.

Im still learning though.
100% Correct. Can't send off after an advantage, you can only go back and caution.

Im still learning though.​

100% Correct. Can't send off after an advantage, you can only go back and caution.​
Just to clarify, you COULD send off after an advantage but you NEVER EVER EVER would! as soon as you think it is a red card offence, you stop the play no matter whether there would be an advantage there or not. that way you can show that you are dealing with a serious offence, prevent any conflict, and dismiss the offender.

Townsend is just fanning these rumours about what the Laws of the game are. i think they should make professional footballers referee a few games early on in their careers, it would really show them how difficult it is and maybe they would have a bit more respect for the men in black afterwards. my motor-mouth on the field has certainly calmed down since I started refereeing!