A&H

Being assessed during promotion

Robin

Level 7 Referee
I went to my in service workshop for promotion today and thoroughly enjoyed it, also a bonus to pass the laws of the game exam (I hate exams).

You pick up so much from practices we do and also from other referees so its really good anyway.

I am going to be assessed very soon and not really sure what to expect as this is my first time being promoted and being assessed.

Do I become stricter or do I just referee like I normally do and just apply the laws of the game?

Not really sure how to approach it really...

Any tips and advice would be great.

The Referee Store
Don't throw away simple marks. Pitch and equipment inspections. And all technical mandatory offences get the yellow card they warrant.

Aside from that just Relax, plenty of enthusiasm and do your normal thing. It's just another game. Big smile and enjoy it.

Simple points:
- Pre match instructions to CAR (if they can give more than in/out)
- players equipment checked
- pro-active communicate with players
- do substitutions properly - go to halfway line check them on
- when applying advantage use correct signals - in fact poor signals is an easy spot for the assessors
- positioning - move around the FOP and change positions at corners.

When giving instructions to CAR's, brief both together.

More important than the signal with the advantage is the voice, "Play on, advantage". As one said to me last year, not everyone will see the signal, but they will hear the voice. Make sure you have a word with either fouler or fouled at any chance you get. Looks good, and makes sure they're aware as well.

For a 7-6 promotion I wouldn't encourage you to do much different to your normal game. You then know where your strengths & weaknesses lie, giving you the chance the improve upon them before the next assessor.

Oh, and referee with a smile! Look like you're enjoying the game.

Be calm, relaxed, and dont forget the little things.