A&H

Competitive Cup Game

Andy A

Hi Gents,

Just after a bit of advice here as I'm still learning the ropes.

I had a cup game today and it was played in a good nature throughout, except for one incident....

Blue forward gets fouled, not really a lot in it in all fairness, but he gets up and pushes (two handed) orange defender in chest (not massively aggressive - I've seen pushes with a lot more malice)

Inevitable mass con occurs, I step back, take a look and don't see anything but handbags and players being separated before anything severe happens. When it calms down I elected to just caution the blue forward. Correct?

Also, one more question, this blue forward commits a couple more fouls after, first incident he slips (pitch was very slippy underfoot by this stage) and the second one he got blind sided and couldn't see a player coming in with his head and made contact with his head.

Orange team were screaming at me by now saying they can't understand why he's still on the pitch, he should have his second yellow for persistent fouling? I explained that to receive a second yellow for either of those challenges would be harsh.

Thoughts?

Orange went onto win on penalties.

The Referee Store
Sounds like you did Ok, always try an get the first aggressor, if there is a big retaliator, get him too...i love getting GKs too that run from a long way out, easy meat..... Then its lucky dip if you are on your own.. Persistent Infringement is a tough one as there is no set number, don't get talked into doing something too hasty though, look at each infringement on its merits, use the captain, warn the player if necessary and if he still carries on then do your worst! He can't say he wasn't warned!

Thanks @Sheffields Finest

To be honest I was happy with what I did at the time, but I always like to seek advice off here just to make sure I am doing things properly.