A&H

First referring game

molly

I’ve been given by first referring game on Sunday. I’m super excited but also a little nervous. Is there any tips or anything I can do before the game to make sure it goes smoothly?
How do I prepare in the run up?

The Referee Store
Nerves are natural. I’ve been doing this for 24 years and still get butterflies. Just get there in plenty of time, have a quick run through the laws of the game and smile. You’ll smash it!

Nice one! I'm very new to but I'm just doing smaller youth games at the moment (U9s-U13s), and when I'm in the car driving to the game I get intense butterflies but I find as soon as I get onto the field it's all ok.

Plan your route to the ground. Know where it is, and any contact numbers you might need on the day. Aim to arrive in plenty of time - how long this is will depend on the game, but go for at least half hour early.

Pack your kit Saturday night, for peace of mind. Jersey, shorts, socks, boots, flags, cards, notebook, coin, whistle, pens, watches, warm-up top/joggers. Anything else you can blag or borrow.

Read the competition rules - how many minutes each way, how many subs, do they use sin bins.

Arrive, introduce yourself as the referee and ask where your changing room is.

Sit down, relax. Unpack.

Relax some more.

Warm up, get a feel of the pitch, make yourself known to both managers.

ENJOY IT.

Just be honest to yourself, to others, and congratulations on your first game.

(Edit: Nervousness is a great feeling - it shows you care. All of us here get it. From the local U10s match, to 4th official in the top flight.)

Congrats. Nerves mean you care. I'd worry if you were not nervous. I have two tips.

One of the most common things for first gamers to watch out for is how you blow you whistle. Remember the whistle is not just for you and those close to you to hear. It's for everyone including the spectators. Don't be shy blowing that whistle loud.