A&H

Ignored as assistant

LHref

Recently, I took part in a game as an assistant referee, specifically as a club assistant for my brother's team. Before the match I informed the referee that I was a qualified referee and had refereed a lot of matches etc. He told me not to give fouls etc. but only offsides, in and out of play etc. (which I understood). As the game proceeded the referee proceeded to ignore multiple offside calls that I made. He did not even acknowledge the flag, he just looked at me and carried on with no signal whatsoever. His positioning was abysmal as well, he was generally a long way behind play with absolutely no hope of being able to know whether the offside call was correct (or not). Anyway, I raised my flag four times to signal offside, three of which were not even close (they were five-six yards offside each time with the player clearly interfering given that they touched the ball). One, very obvious offside, led to a goal (which was thankfully irrelevant to the result of the game). Following the match I asked the referee on his decisions and he said that he thought I was "blatantly wrong on two calls" and he "hadn't seen the other two". I am not here to criticise the referee but am wondering two things. Firstly, when you are in the middle do you ignore club assistants (be them qualified or not) on a regular basis, and when you do are you always in a good position to see it? And secondly, how would you deal with the situation if you were in my position? Would you put your flag down as soon as the ref saw you? Or would you stand firm and just keep the flag up until acknowledgement (that frankly wasn't likely to be forthcoming)? The situation was humiliating to me- in front of people I knew- and I urge anyone who disagrees with an assistant (club or neutral) to at least acknowledge their call and tell them to put the flag down. Thanks for any help you can offer.

The Referee Store