A&H

Open Age Incident

Grassrootsref

Hi

I had an incident the other day at a game. where a spectator was shouting and swearing at me I gave said spectator a yellow card where they continued shouting and swearing and refused to give me their name and instead gave a false name from a cartoon series, so I showed them the red card and ordered them to leave the playing field the game was being played on.
The spectator was stood with one of the teams bench but a lot of spectators stand along the side with the benches so I don't know if the were with them or not.
My question is what will the county FA do in this case as in how would they investigate a spectator and how would you deal with the situation.
I am still very new to reffing so trying to learn still

The Referee Store
1: You’re correct to deal with this as an unacceptable situation. However,

2: You cannot show card to spectators. Only players including subs, and team management can be shown cards.

3. You have 2 options here. Either request that the team they’re supporting as a grassroots game, or the home side if it’s in a private ground remove them.

4. Report to the FA as an Extraordinary Incident, using the Misconduct report function. This will apply irrespective of whether the spectator was removed, or refused to leave.

I expect the county discipline admin staff will likely switch the report to a Misconduct charge anyway and should be I touch with you explaining my point 2, but this is intended to help you avoid issues in the future as you’ll come up against some smart a—- who knows the regulations and will use that knowledge to make your life even more difficult.

Hope this is helpful 🙂

Hi