A&H

Fitness

Danwilliams26

I have booked myself into a ref training course that start in Aug and I am studying a lot on the LOTG also my fitness so my question is how fit have you got to be to become a starter ref and pass my course

The Referee Store
As far as I am aware, there are not currently any fitness requirements for you to pass the course. However, if you wish to seek promotion to level 4 (in the future), your fitness will be assessed as part of this process.

Don't let this deter you though! The fitter you are, the easier refereeing becomes.

Reactions: SM
@Danwilliams26 Get as fit as humanly possible, you can be the best decision maker, peace maker, administrator around but without a good level of fitness you are nothing. As CA said there are no fitness requirements to pass but don't let that stop you.

Welcome to the forum and good luck with everything :):)

As @CA has said, the fitter the better, and at least fitter than the players (so can beat them up the pitch).

As a guidance, I'm 6'1", 17 stone (114Kg), cover between 6 and 8 miles a game and a top sprint of 18mph. CA is much fitter - I can vouch for that!

No official fitness tests until L4 promotion and there after - It may not be note that you "are" fit but it may be note if you are "not" fit.

If you're 20+ stone and struggle up the stairs, well you have 4 months to work on it.

@HRW I am the same build but i'm 5ft 9 it's good to no that you don't have to be the same fitness level as Gareth bale lol thanks for the advice guys I think I will be posting a few more questions on here from now till my course :) you all are helpful