RefSix

Don't break the team pen moment

Ben448844

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
I've perhaps done 10 or so games as an AR now. Most refs I've seen have been excellent and have given very good pre match talks, focusing on key points and giving clear instructions. I have had one pre match talk that was 15 mins and covered every possible scenario. By the end of it of forgotten or confused most of the things he said as he seemed to contradict himself as his scenarios became more and more detailed. As a relatively new AR it's great to have clear and concise instructions, and most refs have been excellent at delivering them. I had no idea all those years that I played that pre match instruction from refs were even a thing.
 

GraemeS

RefChat Addict
Level 5 Referee
My methodology hasn't really got past first base yet. I'll get back to you in a few years once I've got some more miles on the clock
I'll give you a clue: once you rule out "masonic signals" you only have the option of giving the same answer to both questions
 

one

RefChat Addict
Level 7 Referee
Yeah, you didn’t follow;

Also @one discreet, the AR managed to walk about 10 yards and nearly made it to the place where the box meets goal line, while I’m standing over the DFK just outside the box! It was not subtle;)
Fair enough. I misread the OP as he was walking towards the corner flag.
 

CanuckRef

Active Member
Level 3 Referee
So another point here: you say there were two incidents. The first was a foul outside the PA and the second was a foul almost immediately after in the PA. Why would you not give advantage on the first one and punish the second?
 

santa sangria

RefChat Addict
So another point here: you say there were two incidents. The first was a foul outside the PA and the second was a foul almost immediately after in the PA. Why would you not give advantage on the first one and punish the second?
Actually, I said I thought the tangle in the box after the foul was not an offence. That’s what I saw, what I explained after the incident, and what I tried to get across here.

Of course, I might have been wrong - would be great to see a video - and there could have been an offence in the box that I didn’t see. In which case, yes, implied advantage and pen would be fine.
 

JamesL

RefChat Addict
Level 4 Referee
Actually, I said I thought the tangle in the box after the foul was not an offence. That’s what I saw, what I explained after the incident, and what I tried to get across here.

Of course, I might have been wrong - would be great to see a video - and there could have been an offence in the box that I didn’t see. In which case, yes, implied advantage and pen would be fine.
Secondary thought... Putting a side the pre match. Is it possible the AR thought you had blown for the secondary tangle?
Did you discuss after the game? What did he say?
 

santa sangria

RefChat Addict
Secondary thought... Putting a side the pre match. Is it possible the AR thought you had blown for the secondary tangle?
Did you discuss after the game? What did he say?
No, I ran over pointed at the DFK position, screaming free kick. He was gutted after. Good learning all round I hope. And I'm sure he has a great future - only 17!
 
Top